RSS

Name Change

12 Apr

Hello there. Welcome to this little gathering placeI’m glad you found your way here and I hope that you are able to take something away when you leave.

Some background

This post is not a typical one of mine. It’s not common to the past few that I’ve recently added. In fact it’s about as atypical as the ones I’ve recently written.

I’ve been in a bad way for about the past year. I’ll call these months the Dark Age. I don’t know if I’m coming out of them just yet, but I am blogging again. And that in itself is a huge step.

I’ve been apathetic.

I’ve been suicidal.

I’ve been drinking.

I’ve been living it up Netflix style every night with a party for one. Shades drawn. Door locked. A catatonic lump amassed on the tan leather couch that has become my safe spot. I don’t know if I’ve been particularly withdrawn because I’m a heavy introvert, but I have felt awkward and inept in social settings – yeah I don’t really dig those. I’m a big red X, Delete button kinda guy on those MS Outlook happy hour invitations I get once a month. Yeah buddy, cut my knees off and call me shorty – that’s me.

My posts have been increasingly dark and graphic. I’m like that anyways because that’s how my depression manifests itself. Actually, it’s not that they’ve become dark and graphic. It’s just that that’s ALL they are nowadays.

I used to do Saturday night funnies because they used to make me laugh.

I used to laugh.

I used to create these little phrases of hope in PowerPoint and post them. I used to write poetry regularly because I had it in my soul. I haven’t had those intuitions in a hot minute.

40+ pounds lighter and several years ago, I used to get up at 4:30/5:00 to exercise. Now I don’t even care to walk across the street to the beach for a stroll. It’s all I can do to come home, get changed, and plop myself on the couch where I mutate for the rest of the night.

Eating popcorn and Fringe binging.

I don’t have energy for a relationship, but have been in one for the past two years.

[I tried so hard to reach for the stars]

I feel like a failure and that I let people down every day just by being alive. That’s how depression does.

[But I failed you all]

I haven’t even played Rockband until just recently. Forced myself to.

Yeah lately, I haven’t had hope.

I’ve not been hopeful for my life.

I’ve not had “hope through Depression” like the subtitle to my site says.

It hasn’t all been suckwad

Ironically though, I have been productive in small areas of my life. Don’t know how THAT’S worked out, but it has. I earned a merit raise at my job during December’s rounds of performance reviews. I’ve been taking graduate courses for almost the past year…trying to complete a certificate in my job field. I have a beautiful daughter who I spend as much time with as her mother allows me to. But I swear, most days it’s the most I can do to drag myself out of bed after hitting Snooze for 90 minutes, wiping the sleepy dirt from my eyes, and getting in the shower then heading to work.

Soooo anywho, that’s been my life for the past, longest time.

Sass’ – the catalyst

A fellow blogger, a friend, commented recently that:

I think even we, with our own Specters, forget how overpowering they can be and that we don’t want to glorify when it happens. We just want to be honest about it. And in that honesty comes bravery, even if you don’t feel it.

I sent her a quick thank you for the impact that her statement had on me over the past 24 hours, particularly when she said, “we don’t want to glorify when it happens”.

That got me thinking about the title of my blog-

surviving the specter

Hope through Depression from a survivor of suicide. “Specter” is the personification of my depression.

It got me thinking about rethinking that phrase, particularly that little word, “hope”.

What’s in a name?

I haven’t had hope.

I haven’t portrayed hope.

I haven’t sought hope.

So I think it best that I modify the name of this little gathering place.

surviving the specter

Hope Surviving through Depression from a survivor of suicide. “Specter” is the personification of my depression.

Lyrics courtesy of DragonForce, The Day.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on 04/12/2016 in Depression

 

9 responses to “Name Change

  1. sedge808

    04/14/2016 at 01:10

    good to hear from you…and all that you are experiencing.

    Like

     
  2. KatieComeBack

    04/13/2016 at 22:06

    Posting here is a good start to finding your way. Hugs.

    Like

     
  3. nombre de la pluma

    04/13/2016 at 10:10

    You are awesome. And yes, Sass is a great encourager even though she goes through it herself.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Surviving the Specter

      04/13/2016 at 10:18

      Thank you for your words of support, Deon 🙂 And yes, that may be when it’s the hardest to find the strength to encourage.
      X

      Like

       
  4. SassaFrassTheFeisty

    04/12/2016 at 23:38

    I don’t know what to say… I’m crying for you and with you, and to think that a couple lines of honesty from one person to another who gets it, makes me humble. Really. I speak from my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  5. lookingforthelightblog

    04/12/2016 at 22:45

    Chris
    Glad to hear your mood is slowly moving up and not further down. It’s great to see you blogging again. Taking course work despite your depression tells me you are very strong, can accomplish anything. It takes a bit longer for us, when we’re in deep. I’m always here for you, I stared down the Black Dog many times.
    Take care.
    🙂
    M

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Surviving the Specter

      04/13/2016 at 06:48

      Melinda, thank you so much for your kindness and support. I hope that you have been doing well, also. X

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Land of Oyr

Εpic Fantasy

Making Maps: DIY Cartography

Resources and Ideas for Making Maps

Astrographer

Gathering a Community of Worldbuilders

The Wild Heart of Life

"He was unheeded, happy, and near to the wild heart of life." ...James Joyce

Dyson's Dodecahedron

Award Winning Dungeon Design

Fantasy In Motion

Live by the pen, die by the sword...

The Cool Mama

Adventures in art and design

ars phantasia

reflections on fantasy cartography & game design

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

flashlight batteries

Poetry: Emergency lighting for times of darkness and fear

Summer Starts to Shine

"This isn't a blog about mental health 'perfection' or finding that elusive post-traumatic cure. It's about honesty, authenticity, and the open sharing of the raw unfiltered truths of a live lived with BPD & PTSD.

Lucky Rabbit's Foot

... not so lucky for the rabbit!

Owning It

Claiming boyhood, staring down sexual abuse

Vitality

The Power Of Enduring

English-Language Thoughts

English-Language Thoughts

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Sound Bite Fiction

where nothing is quite what it seems

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

irevuo

art. popular since 10,000 BC

From the Darkness into the Sunshine

sexual abuse,survivor,healing,life as whole

The Cotswold Company Blog

Country Inspired Furniture

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Crown Print

a book blog

Speak Out Society

Speak up, even if your voice shakes.

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

A Mental Health Blog by Al Levin

Men & Depression, Suicide Prevention & Awareness, Mental Illness Stigma, & Our Broken Mental Health System

tenacitytdotcom

PIECES OF ME...

Br Andrew's Muses

From head to pen - A great WordPress.com site

thedrabble.wordpress.com/

Shortness of Breadth

Two Angels and a Black Dog

The journey of a single mum with bipolar

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

FICTION

My oasis in the desert of the living.

Truth Vindicator

Liberating truth and free thought with words of wisdom, wit and wonder

Soul Joy

Learning To Live A Life of Purpose to bring Joy to my Soul and Yours whilst Living with Acromegaly

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Someday Tomorrow

On a journey to a happier place

The Bold Mom BLOG

www.theboldmom.com

