RSS

Doing These Four [Healthy] Things Helps Me Navigate My Depression.

17 Mar

NOTE TO READER: This post mentions my attempt to take my life. If this is a trigger for you please do not read it. May you find peace through your valley my friend.

What do you do when your depression sets in? Do you cry? Do you write? Do you listen to music, or go on a walk? Over the course of time I’ve realized that I do four things that allow me to navigate my depression in a healthy way.

cropped-10516728_10203449821299797_2348610586882441441_n.jpg

1.   Pray.  This is the first thing I try to do. Not only as damage control when I’m in a valley, but as preventive maintenance before I hit one. It’s like changing my oil before the engine freezes up. My faith has been a source of strength for me and I try to pray as often as I can. Not just asking for peace or clarity, but being thankful for what He has given to me AND what He has taken away. I also now realize that there is a lesson to be learned in every single thing I go through. Instead of going through it, I try to grow through it. Praying helps me do that.

2.   Cry.  Yep, that’s me. Big man on campus, lol. There’s been plenty of times I’ve found myself balling it out in the fetal position, when Specter comes to take a dig. If I feel it coming, I just let it go. No use fighting it. I used to cry  a lot more several months ago and prior to my suicide attempt. While I was in the psychiatric center, the doctor changed my medicine to a combination of 20 mg of Lexapro and 2 mg of Celexa. Wow! What a combination. I gave up on “the magic bullet” until then. If you have the same diagnoses I have I encourage you to bring it up with your doctor.

3.   Identify a trigger.  On September 14th I attempted to end my life by hanging myself from the doorknob on my bedroom closet. About 5 months later, I started this blog. It wasn’t until I wrote “My Story” (linked at the beginning of this paragraph) that I wrote down what my triggers were. In this case, it was that I couldn’t talk to my daughter to tell her goodnight and that I love her. A short breadcrumb of my triggers and the effects goes like this:

Not being able to reach my daughter at 3 different phone numbers > resentment > anger > depression > drinking > sleeping pills > hanging.

4.   Process/Journal. At the time of this writing (17 March 2015) I’ve been blogging about clinical depression and suicide for a month and a half. I never thought I would be blogging about my mental conditions, much less use blogging as the platform. Now it just seems natural. Mental conditions (“illnesses”) are a big blogging topic and I’m surprised at how big this subject is. If you haven’t taken your shot at blogging about your mental state and conditions, I would challenge you to do just that. You are probably thinking you have nothing to offer others, or that you are not an expert. I disagree. If you live and deal with it, you have something to say. You have hope to offer. Try it! Write honestly. Write from the heart. And make connections with others going through the same valley you are. Sharing is therapeutic. Caring for others is, too. You may not be there yet, but I can guarantee you will touch someone with your glimmer of hope.

What do you do to navigate your depression? What advice do you have for others who are surviving through their mental conditions?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 03/17/2015 in Depression, lists

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Doing These Four [Healthy] Things Helps Me Navigate My Depression.

  1. Mom of 3

    03/17/2015 at 21:04

    Such great healthy steps that can be applied to other areas in life as well! Thank you as always for sharing. Sometimes you just need to see something laid out in black and white.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. lilypup

    03/17/2015 at 14:01

    I have a :safety plan” I keep with me at all times. It has a list of people to call and things to do when I get really down. At the bottom is “dial 911”. For “regular” depression, I usually get in bed and wait it out. If it’s “light”, I try to talk to people and get out a little, even around the block. I blog on bipolar and recovery and have been amazed at the people who have said my blog has made a difference for them. It’s been a godsend for me. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Like

     
    • Surviving the Specter

      03/17/2015 at 14:20

      That’s an awesome idea, lily’! Thank you for your insightful comments. And yes, I’ve been a follower of your posts…one of the first ones I started following 🙂 Keep up your great work my fellow warrior. Thank you for spreading hope to so many people!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Land of Oyr

Εpic Fantasy

Making Maps: DIY Cartography

Resources and Ideas for Making Maps

Astrographer

Gathering a Community of Worldbuilders

The Wild Heart of Life

"He was unheeded, happy, and near to the wild heart of life." ...James Joyce

Dyson's Dodecahedron

Award Winning Dungeon Design

Fantasy In Motion

Live by the pen, die by the sword...

The Cool Mama

Adventures in art and design

ars phantasia

reflections on fantasy cartography & game design

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Slay Girl Society

A website for people who want to thrive with positive mental health. Created by a woman with bipolar disorder.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

flashlight batteries

Poetry: Emergency lighting for times of darkness and fear

SUMMER STARTS TO SHINE

WRITER. DOODLER. TRAUMA SURVIVOR. INFLUENCER. WAVE-MAKER.

Lucky Rabbit's Foot

... not so lucky for the rabbit!

Owning It

Claiming boyhood, staring down sexual abuse

Vitality

The Power Of Enduring

English-Language Thoughts

English-Language Thoughts

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Sound Bite Fiction

where nothing is quite what it seems

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

irevuo

art. popular since 10,000 BC

From the Darkness into the Sunshine

sexual abuse,survivor,healing,life as whole

The Cotswold Company Blog

Country Inspired Furniture

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Crown Print

a book blog

Speak Out Society

Speak up, even if your voice shakes.

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

A Mental Health Blog by Al Levin

Men & Depression, Suicide Prevention & Awareness, Mental Illness Stigma, & Our Broken Mental Health System

tenacitytdotcom

PIECES OF ME...

Br Andrew's Muses

From head to pen - A great WordPress.com site

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

thedrabble.wordpress.com/

Shortness of Breadth

Two Angels and a Black Dog

The journey of a single mum with bipolar

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Fusion_Beats 👽

Scribbling the words floating in front, Fusion beats along a burning blunt. 👽

Truth Vindicator

Liberating truth and free thought with words of wisdom, wit and wonder

Soul Joy

Learning To Live A Life of Purpose to bring Joy to my Soul and Yours

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Someday Tomorrow

On a journey to a happier place

