RSS
Image

What if I Don’t Have the Time?

11 Feb
What if I Don’t Have the Time?

Hello again! Today’s post is a little off the subject of clinical depression, but I still believe it will be extremely helpful if you’re here reading and are looking for intuitive ways to improve your blogging. Also, as people with depression, we should look for things we enjoy and appreciate in life. The positives. Learning fascinates me and I want to learn about being a better blogger. My inspiration in this area has come from Michael Hyatt’s posts. He is my social media superhero. This writing is based on his post, “How to Blog if You Don’t Have Time” and can be found here – http://michaelhyatt.com/no-time-to-blog.html

Mr. Hyatt has been my inspiration for blogging, branding, and branching out into social media. His posts on productivity are a particular favorite of mine – they are tremendously insightful and practical. I use a lot of the apps he uses (though I am an Androider, sorry Mr. Hyatt) I invite you to visit his site (Intentional Leadership – http://michaelhyatt.com/) and if blogging is a passion of yours, purchase his book, Platform.

With that said, I am not being paid or endorsed by Mr. Hyatt to write this. Aside from holding the author in high esteem, I wanted to write this post for several reasons. I started blogging in January and have completed the Blogging 101 course by WordPress and am finishing up the Blogging 201 course this week. I haven’t written a blog based on someone else’s post so I wanted to test the waters here. Make sure I’m doing it correctly. I also wanted to try to incorporate functionality I hadn’t used in the past – e.g., inserting a block quote and linking back to the original post.

Michael’s 7 Must Dos in blogging

Computer_keyboard

1. Own Your Schedule – Everyone has 24 hours in their day. Everyone has 60 minutes in an hour. You have to own the time you’ve been given. You have to be deliberate in your prioritization. Be intentional. Be proactive.

2. Set Your Schedule – Michael states,Whatever the activity, the principle is the same: What gets scheduled gets done.” He stresses that he carves out dedicated time to blog and that if he relied on fitting things into a few unclaimed hours each week, he would only have one post for his readers each month. Michael makes it a point to purposely carve out time versus taking the left over hours in his week.

3. Use a Timer – Another must do he advocates is the deadline. People tend to work better when they are under pressure and deadlines do that. Mr. Hyatt uses a timer with his “micro-deadlines”. For instance, if he knows he has to post in 90 minutes. A strategy I like to use is the Pomodoro (Italian for tomato) Technique. Using this method, work sessions are chunked into small manageable bits of around 20 minutes. A timer is set and when the timer goes off, a short break is taken of five minutes or so. I don’t think the times are necessarily strict, as long as the periods of work time are kept shorter. Here’s a quick read and video from one of my favorite hack sites – http://lifehacker.com/productivity-101-a-primer-to-the-pomodoro-technique-1598992730. Or check out the official page here – http://pomodorotechnique.com/

4. Write – For as obvious as it sounds, sitting down to concentrate and write for any amount of time can be a challenge. Especially with all the distractions within a few feet of us at any given time – cell phones, internet, tablets, children, pets, etc. Certainly not conducive to concentration, which is what you need when you write. Michael makes mention of two writing aids that help him in this area, MultiMarkdown and Scrivener. Check them out!

5. Stay Close to Your Subject – Mr. Hyatt states this so perfectly that I have to quote it –

“I read somewhere that writing is like wrangling a horse. No matter how well you did yesterday, you have to saddle it again today if you want to ride. The trick is not letting the horse get too far from you.

“I try to stay as close as I can to my audience and the topics I cover. I’m thinking, talking, reading about them all the time. The benefit is that when I sit down to write my head is already in the right space. The horse is already saddled and ready to go.”

6. Keep a Notebook – The author makes it a point to keep an Evernote notebook within easy reach so he can jot down his

“research, quotes, post ideas, anything that will keep me present to the work. Part of staying close to my subject is keeping my subject close to me. I have  I never have to work from scratch because I can always pick up an idea and get started.”

Very smart, Sir!

7. Use a Template –  Michael stresses using a template as a timesaver for your blogging. I’ve found out recently that MS Word has a blogging template option. Excellent! If you want to read up on this more here it is – http://www.pcworld.com/article/2602862/how-to-start-blogging-with-microsoft-word.html

What is YOUR favorite blogging tip? I’d love to learn from you!

p.s. – It would be a dream come true to see a comment/suggestion from Mr. Hyatt!

Copyright information for Mr. Hyatt’s intellectual property contained in this post –

© 2013, Michael S. Hyatt. All rights reserved. Originally published at http://www.michaelhyatt.com.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Land of Oyr

Εpic Fantasy

Making Maps: DIY Cartography

Resources and Ideas for Making Maps

Astrographer

Gathering a Community of Worldbuilders

The Wild Heart of Life

"He was unheeded, happy, and near to the wild heart of life." ...James Joyce

Dyson's Dodecahedron

Award Winning Dungeon Design

Fantasy In Motion

Live by the pen, die by the sword...

The Cool Mama

Adventures in art and design

ars phantasia

reflections on fantasy cartography & game design

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Slay Girl Society

A website for people who want to thrive with positive mental health. Created by a woman with bipolar disorder.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

flashlight batteries

Poetry: Emergency lighting for times of darkness and fear

The High Octane Shine Blog

"This isn't a blog about mental health 'perfection', or finding that elusive post-traumatic cure. It's about learning how to be ill *well*"

Lucky Rabbit's Foot

... not so lucky for the rabbit!

Owning It

Claiming boyhood, staring down sexual abuse

Vitality

The Power Of Enduring

English-Language Thoughts

English-Language Thoughts

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple

Growing older is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Sound Bite Fiction

where nothing is quite what it seems

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

irevuo

art. popular since 10,000 BC

From the Darkness into the Sunshine

sexual abuse,survivor,healing,life as whole

The Cotswold Company Blog

Country Inspired Furniture

Lynn Thaler

Weird and Random Thoughts

Crown Print

a book blog

Speak Out Society

Speak up, even if your voice shakes.

autismthoughts

My experiences with autism, depression, and life

A Mental Health Blog by Al Levin

Men & Depression, Suicide Prevention & Awareness, Mental Illness Stigma, & Our Broken Mental Health System

tenacitytdotcom

PIECES OF ME...

Br Andrew's Muses

From head to pen - A great WordPress.com site

thedrabble.wordpress.com/

Shortness of Breadth

Two Angels and a Black Dog

The journey of a single mum with bipolar

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

FICTION

My oasis in the desert of the living.

Truth Vindicator

Liberating truth and free thought with words of wisdom, wit and wonder

Soul Joy

Learning To Live A Life of Purpose to bring Joy to my Soul and Yours whilst Living with Acromegaly

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Someday Tomorrow

On a journey to a happier place

The Bold Mom BLOG

www.theboldmom.com

